Country time with Apple Juice

If you’ve ever had fresh pressed apple cider you know what a delight it is. We have about ten apple trees here and although we share quite a bit with the deer the bear and the birds, I decided to make some apple juice this year. It was easy to go online and find directions to make the apple juice. It took about three hours from start to finish. Which was perfect because by the time I finished with the apple juice it was time to start dinner.

Five gallon bucket of apples

Five gallon bucket of apples


Apples in sink ready for wash

Apples in sink ready for wash


washed apples

washed apples


cut apples

cut apples


Juicer

Juicer


Extracted apple pulp

Extracted apple pulp


Heating up the apple juice

Heating up the apple juice


Five gallons of apples turn into twelve 20 ounce bottles of juice

Five gallons of apples turn into twelve 20 ounce bottles of juice


After I washed the apples very well, I cut them into quarters or smaller to fit the juicer tube. I then continued all the apples till the entire five gallon bucket was cut and juiced. I then brought the juice up to a boil and reduced the heat and let the juice simmer for around 5 minutes. I then put the juice through a cotton cloth and sieve. Then used a funnel to put the juice into 20 ounce bottles where it will set to get cooled of then I will store it in the freezer.
I really enjoyed making the apple juice it wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be. The hardest part was the clean up. I am looking forward to exploring more country life in the future. Life has been so busy for so many years that I just haven’t taken time to enjoy the wonderful life I have here in this country home.
Living the simple life here in the country.

Please leave a Comment

